ACTUALLY, IT SHOULD BE THE LOWLIGHTS… So, yeah, a couple of weeks went by and I was slowly building back up to full strength.

I’ll let you know when I get there — I’m still working on it.

Anyway, so what happened over most of the summer and autumn was:
> I jumped! Like, a 20cm set of crosspoles, but still! Delilah and I landed on the other side and I cheered.

> One Saturday, about five weeks ago, I got to the yard and something was sore, behind my right knee? I got up anyway, fell off over a spread that was too much for Delilah [and me], and then… ah, shite, I started limping on my right side.

I googled ‘posterior cruciate ligament’ and hoped for the best.

My physio said it was my medial ligament, a big sucker on the inside of my knee. I had, yes, torn it a little, and it would take the usual 2 to 6 weeks to heal.

>I started mounting from the wall outside the indoor arena. This was mostly okay, except when Delilah, bless her heart, thought I wanted her to jump up on the wall, too.

>The left leg was slowly… unfurling, is the way I starting to think about it. Inch by inch, I was getting back full mobility, and the ‘thing’, whatever the core thing was, was beginning to isolate.

> AND THEN IT SNOWED. IT WAS SNOWMAGEDDON IN IRELAND. This was actually okay with me, I rested the medial ligament, and then came back for three more lessons before demobbing for the hols.

This is excellent, enforced rest, and I didn’t pack my riding things for the States. I really do need to give it a rest.

